2010 Winter Olympics

It’s time once again for one of my favorite events: the Winter Olympics. This year they are being held in Vancouver, British Columbia. I am so excited to watch them again! Turin Italy hosted the 2006 Winter Olympics, and I thought at the time I’d never be so lucky to get to go to Italy and watch something so amazing. Well I’ve been to Italy a few times now so you never know what will happen! I may not make it this go-round but I’m going to try my best to see them live in 2014, wherever they may be!!!

Opening night is always amazing, so inspiring. To be honest I’m not even sure who’s going to perform this evening, but that is only a small portion of the magic. I love watching the parade of countries, watching all the athletes fill the stadium, listening to the anthems from around the world, watching the torch reach its final destination with such anticipation and ceremony! Surely tonight will amaze me as it always does, no matter if it’s the winter or summer Olympics.

I’m excited to see what Apolo Ohno does this year. And if Lindsey Vonn will make it despite her recent training injury. I’m hoping Bode Miller doesn’t make a total ass, on or off the mountain, like he usually does.

But most of all I’m looking forward to hearing the stories of all the athletes who have worked their lives for this moment, to hear about their struggles and watch them participate no matter if they win the gold or only get one good run at it. It’s the people I love the most about the Olympics.

Let me not fail to mention that this years’ events will also take place in one of the most beautiful places on Earth. Olympics or no Olympics, I will ski there some day!!!

So Canada, do what you always do best: be the gracious, kind, intelligent, worldly, mellow people you always are, and show us all what it’s all about!!!

2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver, BC

 

*** As I was posting this it was announced that one participant just lost his life in training… my thoughts and prayers go out to the family and friends of Nodar Kumaritashvili.

Leave a Reply

