25th Anniversary Party

Here’s a rarity these days: this year marks my parents’ 25th wedding anniversary! How amazing (and rare and cool and how much work is that?!?!) I am so totally happy for them and so to mark the occasion, I wanted to throw them a party. And so on September 24th 2011, just days before their actual anniversary (September 27th), we had a soiree at their house!!

After the wedding invitations were sent I got busy on the details: food, drinks, cake, & decor.

We chose to do a “charcuterie” theme for the food, which translated into lots of different meats (salami, turkey, sausage, smoked salmon, smoked trout, oysters, pate) and cheeses (brie, goat cheese, manchego, gruyere…I know I’m forgetting something here). We also had grapes, strawberries, quince paste, lots of different crackers & breads & spreads. We also served a lot of Italian-style antipasti – several types of olives, pepperoncini, roasted red peppers, pearl onions, etc.

For the drinks, I bought different bottles of red and white wines, each with a special memory: one was the same wine they liked when they first got married (a German Kabinett Riesling), another was French (Dad’s a francophile), another was from Chateau Ste. Michelle in Washington (where we lived 1987-1999), a Nero d’Avola from Sicily (Mom’s roots), and another that was Dustin’s favorite (Rosemount Shiraz). I also made this punch, and served sun tea, Coke/Diet Coke, and a selection of beer. I bought some bubbly for the champagne toast I wanted to give as well, which you can see in the following video (please excuse my ugly cry face – I’m no good at giving toasts!!!)

*leave a comment if you need a password to watch the video and I’ll respond to you privately*

So this one is for you, Mom & Dad! I think (hope?) you had an amazing time, and deserve every compliment, every blessing, and every moment of happiness!! Each and every day 🙂

Lots of love,
Nikki, Maurice, & Hazel

2 thoughts on “25th Anniversary Party

  1. We did have an amazing time – so many friends and family came to share our day. How do we ever thank you and Maurice enough? The party was so elegant, the food was perfect, the thought process you put into the details was over-the-top. As I said in answer to your question, sticking it out and working it all through is worth it! Love you more than words can express, Mom

    • No need to thank us, we had fun planning it and partying with you guys! You guys more than deserve a special day (or two or three or 50!) Love you guys!!! xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

